“…..I’ll be on my way…..”


She knew it was coming,

The sun was sinking in the west

Probably her last, it better be the best

From somewhere in that room, The Beatles play,

As the June light turns to moonlight I’ll be on my way 

She heard them ringing,

In a Church the sound of prayer bells

How she longed to be there, but her heart tells

It was forbidden, why, she would never understand

She only did what many did to her, but they were not banned

She was now playing,

In her mind, the flashback of her life

Which was nothing but a never ending bitter strife

Between right and wrong, pain and pleasure, good and bad

And a wish for the moment, to live the dream that she had always had

She began singing

The songs about friends and false lovers

Who saved their love for under her blanket covers

And, would leave the following morning with a tip or two

Only to be replaced by another, just the same, yet how time flew

She was disappearing

In the darkness around her bed

She closed her eyes, the day is dead

In a corner of the room, The Beatles still play

As the June light turns to moonlight, I’ll be on my way


24 Comments

  1. Jingle said,

    April 23, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    very thoughtful progress of her…

    superb imagery, you rocked..
    😉

  2. PinkLady said,

    April 23, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    what a sad, haunting tale… lovely piece on love that was not meant to be… how the dream of a new life was shattered by the death of a promise. the line from a beatles’ song resonates… brilliant poem!

    alethea, thanks for the nice comment on my blog. 🙂

  3. A.B. Thomas said,

    April 24, 2011 at 1:23 am

    A superb piece, it’s very haunting in its production of the mood

  4. gomagoti said,

    April 24, 2011 at 5:27 am

    my favourite poem out of all of this weeks contestants,its gorgeous, excellent work.

    • Alethea said,

      April 24, 2011 at 7:42 am

      Thank you so much. I read your poem and loved it. It means a lot coming from someone like you. Thanks again and I’m glad you liked it!!

  5. Vinay said,

    April 24, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Wow! Alethea, you play with the structure nicely, and highlight whats needed! Wonderfully written!

    My Post Is Here

    • Alethea said,

      April 25, 2011 at 3:45 am

      Thanks Vinay…. wanted to try something different. 🙂

  6. Emily Jane said,

    April 24, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Lovely. I really like the Beatles allusion

    • Alethea said,

      April 25, 2011 at 3:47 am

      Thanks Emily…. I’m suffering from Beatlemania right now 😀

  7. haggishead said,

    April 25, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! great!!!!!!!! great??!!!

  8. April 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    A lot of pain and sadness…well written, nice structure, one word – excellent!

  9. torquethis said,

    April 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Very nicely done. I enjoyed it.

  10. April 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I have to agree with the previous comments, sad feelings expressed brilliantly. The structure is creative and interesting for the reader’s eyes. All together – I’m glad I stopped by to read this post!

    As the June light turns to moonlight, I’ll be on my way … hopefully on the way to happiness …

  11. Walt said,

    April 29, 2011 at 1:04 am

    An interesting and image invoking work. I like this.

  12. Alive aLwaYs said,

    May 13, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Very nice, I hope when you wake up, the dawn brings to you all joy and happiness.

  13. May 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Beautiful poem =)

  14. poetrydiary said,

    May 15, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    I enjoyed this poem. You somehow capture the spirit of life and living so well. I feel for the writer.

  15. Abishek Jain said,

    April 2, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    really good one!!! u hv a good blog!! keep blogging!!!!!


Leave a Reply

