What goes around comes around


You say it’s unfair, that you didn’t deserve it

I know the perfect thing to say, but I won’t say it

A million flashbacks run through my mind

Would you please rewind your memory to the time?

When you thought the world revolved around you

Oh! I’m sorry, you still think so, don’t you?

Things are still the same, there is, but one difference

You have become the joke that you once made at others’ expense

Call me all the names in the world, I couldn’t care less

I have no role whatsoever; you asked fate for this mess

I’m now over with what you did, over with being hurt and bruised and battered

Remember it’s always mind over matter; now I don’t mind and you don’t matter

The face looking at you that you call ugly and full of terror

Is actually karma showing you the mirror 😉

 

41 Comments

  1. March 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Aggressive words they are!
    From the start till the end, every word is awesome! And true indeed!

    • Alethea said,

      March 24, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      thank you…I believe that a little bit of aggression is sometimes good for your health 😉

  2. Jingle said,

    March 24, 2011 at 1:38 am

    powerful imagery..
    welcome back, thanks for sharing such a perfect piece.
    Cheers.

    have fun.

  3. Sam373 said,

    March 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    This is great!
    On many different levels.
    Life is filled with lessons to learn
    But what a shock when the center of attention
    learns that they are the proverbial joke.
    Great poem!

    • Alethea said,

      March 24, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      Glad you liked it. And yes, I did submit this as my rally entry..thanks for asking 🙂
      Happy rallying!!

  4. Sam373 said,

    March 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    P.S. I hope you submitted this as your Rally 40 entry?

  5. magher1 said,

    March 24, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    So true! Love the last lines… And this wink at the end seems really suggestive;P

    • Alethea said,

      March 25, 2011 at 12:36 am

      haha thank you….and here’s another wink for for you 😉

  6. lunawitch15 said,

    March 24, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    nice! karma kicks butt!

  7. 76meadowlark said,

    March 25, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Like it! A nice twist in the tail.

  8. Paulami said,

    March 25, 2011 at 4:55 am

    oh i loved it.. from the start to the end 🙂

  9. Alcina said,

    March 25, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    A perfect truth with a hint of sarcasm at the end.
    Fabulous write-up 🙂

    Alcina-Your breathe

  10. March 25, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Love the poem, especially “The face looking at you that you call ugly and full of terror, Is actually karma showing you the mirror.” Great write!!

    • Alethea said,

      March 26, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Thanks…..I’m glad you liked that part. It took me a long time to come up with those two lines!!

  11. Kavita said,

    March 25, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    AWESOME!!! This is simply powerful and fantastic!! I could tell this to a few I know.. hehehhe
    “Remember it’s always mind over matter; now I don’t mind and you don’t matter” — i LOVED this line!!

    Girl…… you rock!! And wwhhheewww… am I glad to be back here or what!!! 🙂

    (hugs and love)

    • Alethea said,

      March 26, 2011 at 8:08 am

      Am I glad to have you back or what! 🙂

      I was reading something on the net the other day and came across something along the lines of mind over matter. I liked it so much I knew I had to use it somewhere! Glad you liked it!!
      See ya around babe!!
      Hugs right back at ya !!
      xoxo

  12. March 26, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Fabulous! Loved this line “Remember it’s always mind over matter; now I don’t mind and you don’t matter” Awesome read and write. Please visit me at
    http://poetrybysherry.blogspot.com/2011/03/perfect-pair.html

  13. Jingle said,

    March 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    how is your day?

    please find time visiting poets who were here for you but you did not visit yet..

    Thanks..

    have fun. 🙂

    • Alethea said,

      March 27, 2011 at 1:26 am

      hey Ji…the rally’s going great. visited some new rally members and they were all great. I haven’t visited a few who came here…gonna do that now 🙂
      You too have fun 🙂

  14. Silvertongue said,

    March 27, 2011 at 12:33 am

    Wonderful work! The craftsmanship of the poem is top class and the subject is something which we all can relate to. Marks of wonderful poem.

    • Alethea said,

      March 27, 2011 at 1:32 am

      It feels great to write something many people can relate to. Thanks for the appreciation 🙂

  15. March 27, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I’m giving you a standing ovation! *clap*clap*clap*clap*clap* I felt like this when I got divorced and LOVE that you used a glimmer of Dr. Seuss’s quote “those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”. 🙂

    • Alethea said,

      March 28, 2011 at 3:57 am

      Awww….a BIG hug coming your way!! And about the quote, I had read it somewhere and I knew I had to use it in some way in this poem but I had no idea whose it was. Thank you so much for the info.
      And, I’m super glad you liked it!!
      🙂

  16. Fear is not pertinent said,

    March 27, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    Love this piece!!
    Remember it’s always mind over matter; now I don’t mind and you don’t matter
    Especially that line! Amazing work, great entry, thanks for sharing 🙂
    -Roxanne

  17. JL Dodge said,

    March 28, 2011 at 2:28 am

    Very well penned, feels like goodbye !!
    Happy Rally
    JL&B

    • Alethea said,

      March 28, 2011 at 4:04 am

      It is goodbye, well kinda.. It’s about saying goodbye to the past that hurt you.
      Happy rally to you too…thanks for the comment 🙂

  18. Mihir Vatsa said,

    March 28, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Ha ha ha. I tell you this Karma is funny sometimes! Loved the mockery! 😀

    • Alethea said,

      March 29, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Haha it is…isn’t it? I think it’s fun to sit and enjoy as Karma does its job! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  19. Vinay said,

    March 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    hehehe 😀 this aggression had a slight bit of humor to it too I felt. goodbye to the hurtful past? couldn’t agree more. thank u for sharing Alethea 🙂

    Here’s My Poem For Poets Rally

    • Alethea said,

      March 29, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      I’ve learnt that life becomes easier when you add humour to aggression. Thank you for the comment Vinay! Coming over to read your post 🙂

  20. The Fool said,

    March 30, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Really like your clarity of thought expressed throught his lovely poem.

  21. Emily Jane said,

    March 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    This is good… It’s difficult sometimes to write about your thoughts or a feeling but you captured it nicely.


Leave a Reply

