I am…..a rose


I was buried deep into the ground

In the dirty wet mud

I was bitten by the bitter snow

As I started to bud

 

I kept quiet as you stepped on me

Or chose to ignore me

I sobbed quietly resting on the womb

Of the earth that bore me

 

I did not ask the rain why it hit me

I knew I needed it to grow

I just listened as you complained

That my growth was too slow

 

I built a barrier of thorns around me

From the wounds that no one saw

And here I stand today…a beautiful rose

As you watch me bloom, with awe!

 

 

48 Comments

  1. dogkisses said,

    October 8, 2010 at 11:57 am

    A beautiful poem!

  2. Jingle said,

    October 8, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    you are like a lotus,
    elegant and full of beauty after all……

    love your poem,
    cool message.

  3. Jingle said,

    October 8, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    I kept quiet as you stepped on me

    Or chose to ignore me

    I sobbed quietly resting on the womb

    Of the earth that bore me…

    love every line of your words….
    incredible contribution!

  4. Jamie Dedes said,

    October 8, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Jingle said it “elegant and fll of beauty.”

    As I read it I could still the lovely roses we used to grow ….

    Poem on …

    • Alethea said,

      October 8, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Glad it reminded you of something beautiful πŸ™‚

  5. PinkLady said,

    October 8, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    what a lovely poem… as lovely as a rose. brilliant piece! πŸ™‚

    Two Years Ago…

  6. notjeffery said,

    October 8, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    This is beautiful!
    I read it 3 times!
    Very provoking and a great reason for the rose having its thorns.

    Peace to you,

    http://notjeffery1.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/dying-inside/
    http://notjeffery1.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/forsooth/
    (my entries)

    • Alethea said,

      October 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      3 times? wow that was a huge compliment…thank you..
      coming right over to read your poems πŸ™‚

  7. fiveloaf said,

    October 8, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    its a great poem..

  8. October 8, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Alethea, that is such an exquisite personification of a rose and of the cycle of our own lives. Well done.
    Victoria

  9. October 8, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I love this! My mother’s name is Rose and I actually could feel her essence in the words your wrote…can I share this poem with my mother?

    • Alethea said,

      October 9, 2010 at 12:13 am

      That’s so sweet…I’m so glad that my poem reminded you of your mother πŸ™‚ Please go ahead and share it with her…my pleasure…
      Thanks a lot for the visit and the comment πŸ™‚
      Happy weekend!!

  10. joanny said,

    October 8, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    A beautifully crafted poem about one of the Creators perfect creation, you did the Lovely Rose a fine tribute, well written,sublime.

    Cheers,
    Joanny

  11. dhitzunako said,

    October 8, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Nice pick! Roses are definitely beautiful because their thorns. So not just everyone could pick and move them. πŸ™‚

    • Alethea said,

      October 9, 2010 at 12:17 am

      Exactly!! I always thought of thorns as a way to preserve the beauty of the rose πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the comment!!

  12. pollutedpoet said,

    October 9, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    actually it’s not really a metaphor, but what a beautiful perspective!!

    • Alethea said,

      October 9, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      It is kinda metaphor…at least I intended it to be so…
      I wanted to relate it to our own lives..
      The best thing about poetry is that every reader has a different interpretation…
      Thank you for the comment…will come over to your blog shortly!!
      Happy weekend πŸ™‚

  13. October 9, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    A beautiful rose indeed. Nice write. Love and Light, Sender

  14. Sina Saberi said,

    October 9, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    i can only say one thing:

    AWE

  15. October 10, 2010 at 7:37 am

    this is so AWESOME!!!!! i read it again and again and it’s so beautiful! the message, the structure, the flow, everything about it is perfect! BRAVO!

  16. Artswebshow said,

    October 10, 2010 at 8:30 am

    This is beautiful poetry.
    i like the agressive lines that help to bring out the nature of roses

    • Alethea said,

      October 11, 2010 at 4:23 am

      so glad you did πŸ™‚ thanks for the comment!!

  17. trisha said,

    October 10, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    JUST GORGEOUS like a rose, what a beautiful poem, so full of optimism and beauty.

  18. October 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    beautiful.. I think no other word does this justice, but beautiful πŸ™‚

    my rally poem is here:
    http://leonnyes.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/night-nuances/

    • Alethea said,

      October 11, 2010 at 4:24 am

      aww..thanks a lot πŸ™‚
      coming right over to read your poem!!

  19. 700miles said,

    October 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    oh very nice….are you the rose? what a great bit of writing. a very nice piece indeed Alethea. i particularly enjoyed the progression….i’ve subscribed. thank you… take care… 700

    • Alethea said,

      October 12, 2010 at 11:49 am

      umm….kind of…yes..i mean I intended to relate it to our own lives, using roses as an example. But, if roses could speak, I think they’d be saying something similar to this.
      Thanks a lot for the comment and for subscribing
      You too…take care πŸ™‚

  20. Hamida said,

    October 11, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    When the rose speaks, it has a lot to say – things which we never thought about:)!

    The autobiography of a rose:) written in a beautiful style and lucid language!

  21. 2zpoint said,

    October 15, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Truly..a perfect poem. I have put you on my Awesome writers worth reading list Alethea you are truly a treasure.

    • Alethea said,

      October 16, 2010 at 2:50 am

      that’s extremely sweet of you 2z…thanks a lot:)

  22. November 3, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    […] Alethea:Β https://asmiworld.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/i-am-a-rose/ […]


Leave a Reply

