…………All because I am a woman………..


I am a birdย free to fly

who chooses her nest over the sky

I am the light, the early morning glow

Hidden behind the mountains, covered by the snow

I am the fruit bearing a seed,

destroying myself to preserve my breed

I am the love in a mother’s eyes,

A gentle truth surrounded by lies

I am the warmth in a lover’s hug,

A silent promise, a tender touch

I am the flower, blooming throughout

The heat, the cold, the rain, the drought

I am the reasonย for tears and joys

Yet a reasonless, silenced voice

I am a child loyal for life

A caring mother, a faithful wife

I am a friend, always by your side,

Sent by the angels, the Creator’s pride

11 Comments

  1. fiveloaf said,

    May 9, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    nice, very nice.. tq for visiting my blog!

  2. Alethea said,

    May 10, 2010 at 3:53 am

    thank you so much…..:)

  3. Jingle said,

    August 30, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    love it,
    I share the similar wishes with u.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Jingle said,

    August 30, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/thursday-poets-rally-week-27-awards/
    Poets Rally Week 27 awards,
    All 5 4 u, enjoy!
    Happy Monday,
    Rally week 28 will be September 9-15โ€ฆ..Welcome!

    you can still enter for Week 27 to show your support.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Alethea said,

      September 6, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      That’s so sweet of you Jingle…thanks a lot ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Kavita said,

    September 8, 2010 at 3:22 am

    This is a truly beautiful tribute to each and every woman!!
    CHEERS to us all!! I really liked this one, Asmita… You have written it with such feeling and emotions, it felt GREAT!!

    Hugs to you, girlie!!

    • Alethea said,

      September 12, 2010 at 4:34 am

      Yes, CHEERS to us all!! Thanks Kavita ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jingle said,

    September 13, 2010 at 8:41 am

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2010/09/poetry-potluck-big-bang.html

    welcome to poetry pot luck party,
    simply link in 1 to 3 poems, we will comment for you.
    Happy Monday!
    Make sure to sign in and follow our blog to stay fine tuned about our updates…

    we represent poet of the week, poetry blog of the week, poem of the week, if you play along, there is a chance that your work is represented and your talent is exposed to wider audience…

  7. April 24, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Made me proud that I am a woman.Loved it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Alethea said,

      April 25, 2011 at 3:55 am

      We should all be ๐Ÿ˜€ Glad you liked it..thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

